online booking

MCCU Cricket MCCU Cricket

What is MCCU

MCC believes talented young cricketers should not have to make a choice between their cricket and their education – they should be able to pursue both.

The Club therefore funds and administers six university cricket academies in England and Wales – the MCC Universities (MCCUs) – which give young players the opportunity to receive top-level coaching and playing opportunities whilst furthering their education.

The MCCUs offer the best environment to excel on and off the sporting field, and the opportunity to obtain a degree which will be valuable whether the dream of professional cricket becomes reality or not.

They are based in Cambridge, Cardiff, Durham, Leeds, Loughborough and Oxford, and incorporate a total of thirteen institutions. They offer hundreds of courses for students of all academic levels, and, critically for the aspiring cricketer, some of the best coaching and facilities available anywhere in the country

Monty Panesar, Loughborough MCCU Graduate, Sussex CCC & England

The Loughborough MCCU Programme is designed to compliment National Academies, and in many ways the MCCU programme mirrors that of any County Development Programme – but offers the additional opportunity to fulfill young people’s educational potential and provide them with qualifications for later life. 
 Loughborough MCCU, for example, has already assisted in the development of England and National Academy cricketers such as Jimmy Adams (Hampshire CCC), Monty Panesar (Sussex CCC), as well as many other young players who are making an impact on the 1st Class County game such as Chris Nash (Sussex CCC) Arun Harinath (Surrey CCC), Matthew Spriegel (Surrey CCC) David Wainwright (Derbyshire CCC), Paul Borrington (Derbyshire CCC) and most recently Sam Billings (Kent CCC) and Robert Taylor (Leicestershire CCC)

Loughborough MCCU also plays a huge part in developing women’s cricket, there are a number of graduates and current students representing the England Women’s and side, such as, Arran Brindle (Sussex CCC), Laura Marsh (Sussex CCC), Lydia Greenway (Kent CCC), Tammy Beaumont (Kent CCC), Anya Shrubsole (Somerset CCC), Georgia Elwiss (Sussex CCC), Amy Jones (Warwickshire CCC), Helen Shipman (Warwickshire CCC), Natalie Sciver (Surrey CCC) Lauren Winfield (Yorkshire CCC), Beth Langston (Essex CCC) and Izi Noakes (Sussex).